SWING to Open in Los Angeles and New York City


The new independent film SWING is set to open in Los Angeles on June 18, 2004 at the Laemmle's Music Hall theater in Beverly Hills. The New York City release will be held July 9, 2004 at the Village East Cinemas.

The movie, directed by Martin Guigui, is a dance and music-filled story of Anthony Verdi (Innis Casey), a young man caught between his dream of being a full-time musician and the conventional life of his security-minded father (Tom Skerritt) and long-time fiancÚ (Dahlia Waingort).

The film also features appearances by Nell Carter [in her final performance] and Jacqueline Bisset. Neo-swing bands Jellyroll, and Kim Venaas and The Black Tie Jazz Orchestra also make appearances.

Shot in San Francisco and Oakland, SWING, with its positive message about the true source of happiness, exciting swing dance sequences, and an eclectic mix of musical styles, resonates with both the young and the young-at-heart.

More information can be found on the film's official web site at:
http://www.swingthemovie.com

NEWS


Georgia jazz fest honors FLETCHER HENDERSON
Monday, March 27, 2006

SIDNEY FELLER producer for Ray Charles, dies at 89
Sunday, February 26, 2006

Former Swing DJ Killed By San Diego Police
Tuesday, April 5, 2005

RUTH BROWN Hospitalized With Breathing Problems
Monday, March 28, 2005

LARRY BUNKER Dies At 76
Saturday, March 26, 2005

LALO GUERRERO JR. Dies At Age 88
Wednesday, March 23, 2005

Artie Shaw Dies At Age 94
Thursday, December 30, 2004

Lincoln Center Kicks Off Summer Night Swing Series
Friday, June 11, 2004

RAY CHARLES Dies At 73
Thursday, June 10, 2004

Jazzfest to Celebrate Count Basie, Coleman Hawkins and Fats Waller
Thursday, May 27, 2004

..news archive



[an error occurred while processing this directive]